Overcoming negativity.

Standard

Over the last little while, I have been doing some thinking and trying to do some self improvement. I do not know if you have ever had a time, now or previously, where you feel like something needs to change. Where you look at yourself, and just try to understand yourself a little better and discover more of who you are, while finding better ways to deal with things that happen in your life.

One of these areas, and something I have always struggled with, is being negative. I am a worst case scenario person. When something happens I always jump to the worst possible thing that could happen. No matter what it is. I tend to be more of a glass half empty than full person.

For example my husband went away for work for a week when he started his new job. One day during the week I got a message from him after a day of activities. He text and said that he’s on his way home. So I waited and waited for him to come home. His camp was about a 3 hour drive away from where we lived. About two hours later and many phone calls and even phone calls to the local hospital, he finally rung back and said he was only going back to the lodge where they were staying, and not home to me and our then 3 month old. When I didn’t hear from him I already had him crashed in a ditch. I really do go to that level.

Another example is whenever there is thunder and lightning I duck down under the covers and already imagine our house catching on fire or the roof being blown off. Actually one night not so long ago we had a huge thunderstorm in the early morning. The thunder was so loud and rumbling it woke both of us up, ironically not our son. My first thought and comment to my husband was. “Do you think that’s Ruapehu (an active volcano, 3 hours drive form us) blowing it’s top?”

What I was imagining

What I was imagining

 

What was actually happening

What was actually happening

There are many more examples that I could list but I think you get the point I am trying to make.

I have so much to be grateful for. I have a great family, who’s super supportive of me. I have an amazing little boy and a great husband. We have a wonderful home, good health and great jobs. And yet I still find things to be negative about.  This negativity is something I want to conquer, not just for myself, but also for my family. I want to show my boy that there’s so much to be thankful for and to not jump to the negative like me all the time. I want to show him how much better everything is when you can look at it in a positive way.

10325240_790080337692557_914828352993165248_n

My plan to conquer this negativity is to keep reminding myself daily and as often as possible how good I really have it. I know it’s going to take  lot of hard work, and a conscious effort on my part daily, but I am determined to be more positive.

What strategies have you used that has helped you to overcome things that you felt you needed to change?

Leave a Reply

